P112
Urban futures (WCAA/IUAES/JASCA joint panel) CLOSED - 10

Convenors:
Setha Low (Graduate Center, CUNY)
Vesna Vucinic-Neskovic (University of Belgrade)
Location:
International CR
Start time:
17 May, 2014 at 10:30
Session slots:
2

Short abstract:

Drawing upon existing anthropological research, we propose a panel that imagines our urban future. The papers consider what cities will look like deep into the 21st century and how they will transform to survive. Our objective is to question dominant paradigms and envision new possibilities.

Long abstract:

Drawing upon existing urban anthropological research on the structures, discourses, and everyday experiences of the historical and contemporary city, we propose a panel that imagines our urban future. The papers consider what cities will look like deep into the 21st century and how they will be transformed to function and survive. We hope to generate an array of scenarios that might guide and/or restrict the domains of urban planning and spatial infrastructure, mobility and security, political and consumption driven economies, political and social movements, and racial, ethnic, gender and class relations at the global and local scales. We also consider patterns of daily life including practices of religious and cultural heritage, bases of social reproduction, and the importance of collective gatherings and festival activities. Our objective is to question dominant paradigms, such as globalization, neoliberalism, post-coloniality, and governmentality through ethnographic analyses of cities and to stimulate our imaginations and envision new intellectual directions and political possibilities. Agreed participants: Setha Low, CUNY: slow@gc.cuny.edu Vesna Vucinic Neskovic, Univerzitet u Beogradu: vvucinic4@gmail.com Leslie Bank, Institute of Social and Economic Research at the University of Fort Hare in South Africa: lbank@ufh.ac.za Theodore Bestor, Harvard University: bestor@wjh.harvard.edu Monica Heller, University of Toronto: monicaheller@utoronto.ca Junji Koizumi, Osaka University: koizumi@hus.osaka-u.ac.jp Susana Narotzky, Universitat de Barcelona: narotzky@jamillan.com Carmen Rial, Universidade Federal de Santa Catarina (UFSC): carmenrial@abant.org.br and Miriam Grossi, Universidade Federal de Santa Catarina (UFSC): miriamgrossi@gmail.com Rosita Henry, James Cook University: rosita.henry@jcu.edu.au Andrew Kipnis, The Australian National University. Mail: andrew.kipnis@anu.edu.au